The House of Impossible Beauties

Joseph Cassara’s debut novel: The House of Impossible Beauties is both raw and vibrant, sparkling and dark. Inspired by the 1990’s documentary: Paris Is Burning, Impossible Beauties centers around New York City’s 1980’s drag ball scene. Cassara tells the story of a group of young gay and transgender characters, rejected by their own families, who amid societal scorn, the AIDS epidemic, drugs, sex-work and abuse create a magical but imperfect, shimmering but flawed community.  This book is stunning, hard to read and haunting. Fans of White Fur and A Little Life will relish the crackle and burn of this book.

House of Impossible Beauties 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s